Meitheal ChiarraĆ­

A New Approach to Strategic Planning

In May 2002, the Board launched its agreed Strategy for Economic, Social and Cultural Development “Meitheal Chiarrai” 2002- 2011.  

Implementation has brought about the development of new projects and partnerships in relation to Tourism; Rural Development; Enterprise; Social Inclusion; Education and Arts. This collaboration fostered by the County Development Board framework is resulting in an increase in resources to the County and most significantly, improved targeting of those resources within the County.

The County Strategy was reviewed in 2009. Nine Priority Action Theme areas with 49 Actions wasagreed for 2009-2012.  In the light of the changed economic environment in Kerry and nationally, the board is currently agreeing new tourism, agriculture and enterprise priority actions.

Kerry County Development Board (CDB), has the overall responsibility for the implementation and monitoring of the Kerry County Strategy.   It is the responsibility of the agreed Lead Partner organisation to ensure implementation of the actions in collaboration with other organisations.

Project Teams have been formed around the five new key priority areas which report directly to the Executive Committee of the Board for monitoring purposes.  The five priority areas are as follows:

  • Economic
  • Social, Health & Community
  • Social Inclusion
  • Education & Training
  • Culture, Recreation and Heritage

Kerry County Development Board and its Executive Committee are facilitated by Kerry County Council, Community & Enterprise Unit.  Staff from this unit act as links for each of the sub-structures and project teams and liaise with the designated contact in the lead partner organisations. 

The following documents are in PDF format. Adobe PDF Document Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view these documents. (Documents open on a separate page).

Meitheal ChiarraĆ­ 2002-2011
(Size: 2,104 KB)

Kerry County Council, Co. Buildings, Rathass, Tralee

Phone: (066) 718 3500     Email:

  • cssimg
  • wai-aaaimg
  • xhtml image