Kerry Pupils Illustrate Road Safety

Released: 16 December 2008

Primary school pupils from around the County demonstrated their artistic skills to highlight road safety in the 2009 Kerry County Council Road Safety Calendar competition.

On Wednesday morning, 17th December, 2008, 12 pupils from Kerry schools were presented with the 2009 Road Safety calendar, featuring their artwork, by the Mayor of Kerry, Cllr. Tom Fleming. The winners were also presented with individual prizes by Charlie O’Sullivan, Director of Service, Roads, Transportation & Safety with Kerry County Council.

Students were invited to enter a poster for one of two themes, ‘Getting Safely to School’ and ‘Live by the Rules of the Road’.

The winners from the “Getting Safely to School” theme included Kevin Brouder, Killocrim N.S., Alison O’Meara, Kiltallagh N.S., Niamh Hanley, Cahir N.S., Aoife Enright, Dromclough N.S., Katie O’Brien, Blennerville N.S., and Joanne McDermott, Tarbert N.S.  

The theme of “Live by the Rules of the Road” had a particular emphasis for Laura Cavanagh, Ardfert N.S., Caoimhe Geoghegan, Tarbert N.S., Aisling de Baróid, Scoil Naomh Eoin Baiste, Lios Póil, Jeanie Leahy, Dromclough N.S., Gene Moriarty, Killocrim N.S. and Úna Quill, Lissivigeen N.S.

The judging panel for the competition included Michéal O Coiléan (Environmental Awareness Officer), Riobeard O’hEartáin (Oifigeach Gaeilge) and Anne-Marie Crean (Roads, Transportation & Safety Department)
Mayor Fleming congratulated each of the pupils on their wonderful drawings. “The standard of the competition is extremely high and it is great to know that these pupils, through their drawings, are contributing to raising awareness of road safety throughout the County”.

Co-ordinator of the event Michelle Mullane, A/Road Safety Education Officer, was delighted with all the entries. “We had 325 entries from schools around Kerry. It is fantastic that the teachers got so strongly involved and it is my hope that each pupil who took part will have an increased awareness of road safety as a result.”

Kerry County Council, Co. Buildings, Rathass, Tralee

Phone: (066) 718 3500     Email:

  • cssimg
  • wai-aaaimg
  • xhtml image