Five Golds for Kerry in 2016 Tidy Towns

Kerry County Council has congratulated the successful local entrants to this year’s Tidy Towns Competition, the winners of which were announced today. Five gold medals were awarded to Tralee, Killarney, Listowel, Kenmare and Sneem with Listowel being named Ireland’s Tidiest Small Town. Knightstown and Portmagee, meanwhile, received bronze honours.

The Cathaoirleach of Kerry County Council, Cllr Michael O’Shea said the wins for the Kerry towns and villages were testament to the outstanding efforts of volunteers across the county who keep their towns looking so well.

“This is wonderful news for Kerry and the various towns involved. I congratulate in a special way the five gold medal winners as well as Listowel which is Ireland’s Tidiest Small Town for the second year running, which is no mean achievement. These are truly magnificent results for our county.

“Success in the Tidy Towns competition is not only an acknowledgement of the work that local committees do – it also proven to bring benefits from an economic and tourism point of view. To each and every one of the 33 entrants from Kerry this year, the very warmest congratulations for your efforts,” said Cllr O’Shea.

Director of Services, John Breen, said that Kerry County Council is delighted to work closely with Tidy Towns committees around the county on an ongoing basis.

“Tidy Towns groups are the backbone of their local communities, representing all that is best about civic responsibility and love of community. Five gold medals for the county is an exceptional achievement. So too are the results for most of the Kerry entrants who have continued to see an increase in their points tally year-on-year,” he said.

Kerry County Council, Co. Buildings, Rathass, Tralee

Phone: (066) 718 3500     Email: