New numbering system for Town Council planning files

As a result of the merger of the Town Councils of Tralee, Killarney and Listowel with Kerry County Council, there will be a single planning authority for the whole of the county.

As part of this, a new numbering structure is being put in place for the Planning Files of the Town Councils. This is to avoid duplication of planning file numbers between the three town councils and Kerry County Council. From Thursday, May 8th the new numbering structure will be in place

This structure is as follows;

  • Files relating to Killarney Town Council …………….a ‘2’ will be placed after the year e.g. 09511 will become 09200511
  • Files relating to Tralee Town Council…………….....a ‘3’ will be placed after the year e.g. 09422 will become 09300422
  • Files relating to Listowel Town Council……………..a ‘4’ will be placed after the year e.g. 09333 will become 09400333
  • There will be no change to the numbering structure for Kerry County Council Planning Files,

Those wishing to access a particular planning file, either online or at Council offices, will have to use the new numbering structure to access Town Council files.

On the Town Council and Kerry County Council websites, a pop-up message will appear to assist you. Planning applications can continue to be retrieved using other search criteria e.g. applicant’s name, development location etc.

After June 1st 2014, when the Town Councils will cease to exist, all files will be accessed through Kerry County Council’s web site using the Planning Search facility.

Kerry County Council, Co. Buildings, Rathass, Tralee

Phone: (066) 718 3500     Email: