Water Services

Section Water

The Water Services Department consists of two sections:

(a) Water Services Operations Section; which deals with the operation and maintenance of existing water and sewerage schemes; the Rural Water Programme; Minor Capital Works; and the Water Conservation and Metering Programme.  It is also responsible for Burial Grounds and Public Toilets.

(b)   Water Services Capital Projects Section; which deals with the provision of new and improved water and sewerage schemes, mainly through the Water Services Investment Programme.

The main role of the Water Services Department is to;

(a)  Meet statutory requirements to provide water that meets the standards of the Drinking Water Regulations and to maintain water and wastewater schemes to required standards.  This role is fulfilled mainly by the Operations Section.

(b)  Improve the water supply and wastewater infrastructure in the areas which are under the greatest development and/or environmental pressures.  This role is fulfilled mainly by the Capital Projects Section.

Although each section is effectively autonomous, there is close liaison in relation to areas of mutual concern.  The Water Services Department works closely with the three Town Councils of Tralee, Killarney and Listowel for the provision of new infrastructure and in relation to operational issues.

Opening Hours for both sections are 9.00 am to 5.00pm Monday to Friday, including lunch-time. 

Contact Details
Water Services (Capital Unit)
Castleisland Area Services Centre,
Station Road,
Email: watercapital@kerrycoco.ie


Water Services (Water Maintenance Office)
Co. Buildings,
Phone: (066)7183503
Fax: (066)7181639
Email: waterservices@kerrycoco.ie






Kerry County Council, Co. Buildings, Rathass, Tralee

Phone: (066) 718 3500     Email: info@kerrycoco.ie

  • valid css
  • wcag 1.0 AAA compliant
  • xhtml 1.0