Public Conveniences

The operation and maintenance of public conveniences falls within the remit of the Water Services (Operations) Department. 

Kerry County Council operates and manages 29 public conveniences. At present there are 19 permanent conveniences under the care of Kerry County Council. These are located at Banna, Baile an Sceilg, Ballybunion North and South, Ballyheigue, Cahersiveen, Castleisland, An Daingean, Fenit, Gap of Dunloe, Kenmare, Killorglin, Knightstown,  Portmagee, Rossbeigh, Scraggane-Maharees, Sneem, Tarbert, and Waterville.

Kerry County Council also provides mobile / temporary conveniences at a number of locations. These are sited at An Daingean, Ceann Trá, Inch, Castlegregory, Cromane, Kells, Maharees, Rossbeigh, and Staigue Fort. In addition, a public convenience is provided at White Strand, Cahersiveen as part of a partnership arrangement with ACARD Ltd., Caherciveen.

Public conveniences based in Ballybunion, Ballyheigue, Caherciveen, Castleisland, An Daingean, Kenmare, Killorglin, Sneem, Tarbert and Waterville are open throughout the year.  Other public conveniences are open on Bank Holidays and during seasonal periods such as Easter, summer, Christmas.


Kerry County Council, Co. Buildings, Rathass, Tralee

Phone: (066) 718 3500     Email:

  • cssimg
  • wai-aaaimg
  • xhtml image