Public Water & Waste Water

Irish Water is the new national water utility and is now responsible for managing the delivery of water services to homes and businesses in Ireland. For further information or to report an issue with:

Water supply
Water quality
Please contact Irish Water.
Twitter:        @IrishWater
Telephone:    1890 278 278 (LoCall)
Minicom:        1890 378 378
(For hearing impaired customers with minicom equipment)
Postal Address:    Irish Water, PO Box 860, South City Delivery Office, Cork City

Please continue to contact your Local Authority for information or issues relating to business account queries, surface water drainage and flood management.

Public Water & Waste Water

Public Water
In 2008, KCC produced 32.8 million cubic metres of potable water for a population of 120,000 consumers. These consumers are served by 56,000 connections. The Council maintains 83 public Water Supply Schemes in the county. Among the core operations carried out by the Water Services Department are the upgrading and extension of pipe networks, provision of new water and sewer connections,  repair of leaks/bursts on the mains network,  management of water and waste water treatment plants, and the provision of a comprehensive water quality programme. 

The European Communities (Drinking Water) Regulations 2007 set standards for drinking water which Kerry County Council, as a supplier of public water, must achieve.  To meet these standards, water supplies are treated at An Daingean, Brosna, Caragh Lake, Dromin Listowel, Inch, Lauragh, Lyreacrompane, Templenoe, Abbeydorney/Kilflynn and Waterville Treatment Plants.  The water is disinfected by chlorination on the remainder of the Council’s schemes. 

The Council operates a Water Quality Monitoring Programme that involves regular sampling and testing of all water supplies in accordance with the European Communities (Drinking Water) Regulations, 2007.  Water Quality data from the monitoring programme is submitted to the Environmental Protection Agency, which publishes a detailed annual Report. 

The introduction of the Drinking Water regulations has led Kerry County Council to increase the parameters under which it tests – for example tests are now also done for pesticides and additional organic chemicals of concern. The Health Services Executive also carries out regular independent monitoring of public water supplies. 


Public Waste Water
Kerry County Council operates and maintains 34 Waste Water Schemes throughout the county. There are modern Waste Water Treatment Plants and sewer networks at An Daingean, Ballybunion, Ballyheigue, Cahersiveen, Castleisland, Farranfore, Kenmare, Killorglin, and Rathmore.

In 2004, in accordance with the Local Government Act 2001 (which made provision for the full consolidation of water supply and waste water treatment and related functions at County Council level) KCC took over the operation, supervision and management of Listowel, Tralee and Killarney Waste Water Treatment Plants. These plants have now been fully integrated into the operations of Water Services (Operations) Department.

Water & Sewerage Forms

Kerry County Council, Co. Buildings, Rathass, Tralee

Phone: (066) 718 3500     Email:

  • cssimg
  • wai-aaaimg
  • xhtml image