Cllr Niall Kelleher elected Cathaoirleach of Kerry County Council

Cllr Norma Moriarty elected as Leas-Cathaoirleach

Cllr Niall Kelleher has today been elected Cathaoirleach of Kerry County Council and will serve in the role for the 2019-2020 term. At the first meeting of the newly elected local authority, the Fianna Fáil councillor was elected to the chair while Cllr Norma Moriarty (also Fianna Fáil) was elected to the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach.

The 64th person to occupy the chairperson’s role since the council was established in 1899, Cllr Kelleher has been a member of Kerry County Council since 2014 and represents the Killarney Local Electoral Area. He has been chairman of the Kerry Joint Policing Committee and chairman of the Local Community Development Committee during the term of the last council. The 33 year-old father of three is a native of Rathmore and now lives at Knockanes, Headford, Killarney.

Cllr Moriarty has also been a member of the council since 2014 and now represents the new Kenmare Local Electoral Area. She was Cathaoirleach of the South and West Kerry Municipal District over the past twelve months.

View Speeches from incoming and outgoing Cathaoirleach

The first meeting of the new 33-member council took place at Áras an Chontae in Tralee. As well as the election of Cathaoirleach and Leas-Cathaoirleach, a number of nominations were made to bodies on which Kerry County Council is represented by its elected members.

The first annual meetings of the each of the five Municipal Districts in Kerry – Tralee, Killarney, Kenmare, Listowel and Castleisland-Corca Dhuibne – will be held on 14 June.

Contact Us

Kerry County Council
Co Buildings,
Co. Kerry
Tel: 066/7183500
E:  [email protected] 

Social Media

Translate »