The Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015 was commenced on 1st September 2015.

The Act provides that the Standards in Public Office Commission will establish and maintain an online Register of Lobbying and oversee compliance with the legislative provisions.

Lobbyists are obliged to register with the Standards Commission and are required to submit a return of their lobbying activities three times a year.

The purpose of the Resister is to make information available to the public on the identity of those communicating with ‘designated public officials’ on specific policy / legislative matters or prospective decisions.

Section 6 of the Act defines ‘Designated Public Officials’.

For Kerry County Council the Act and associated Regulations have prescribed that ‘designated public officials’ are

  • Members of Kerry County Council (Elected Councillors) – details as follows Elected Members
  • Officials (Employees) at the grade of Chief Executive, Director of Service and analogous.

Those employees/ officials who are prescribed as Designated Public Officials in Kerry County Council are set out below.

Further information is available at http://www.lobbying.ie

Name of Designated Public Official


Grade/ Job Title


Brief Description of Role & Responsibilities


Ms. Moira Murrell Chief Executive Chief Executive of Kerry County Council
Mr. Charles O Sullivan Director of Operations Deputy Chief Executive. Director of Service with responsibility for Operational Services, Health & Safety, Capital Infrastructure and the Kerry National Road Design Office


Mr. John Breen Director of Sustainable Communities/Quality of Life


Director of Service with responsibility for Water Service (including the Irish Water transition Programme), Fire Services/ Building Control, Library Services, Environmental Protection, Veterinary Services.


Mr. Martin O Donoghue Director of Housing Director of Service with responsibility for Housing. Municipal District Manager for the South & West Municipal District.


Mr. Christy O Connor Director of Corporate Services Director of service with responsibility for Corporate Services, IT and Internal Audit
Mr. Michael Scannell Director of Economic & Community Development Director of Service with responsibility for Economic & Community Development, Business Support, Tourism, Planning. Municipal District Manager for Tralee Municipal District.


Ms Angela McAllen


Head of Finance


Head of Finance with responsibility for Financial Governance, Procurement, Audit and Motor Taxation. Municipal District Manager for Killarney Municipal District


Contact Us

Kerry County Council
Co Buildings,
Co. Kerry
Tel: 066/7183500
E: [email protected]

Social Media

twittericon youtubeicon facebookicon

Useful Links
  • A-Z Services
  • Locate Us
  • Online Mapping


Translate »