Online map launched to inform voters on new electoral areas for 2019 local elections

Online Boundary Mapping App

Kerry County Council has launched a new interactive map on its website to help to inform voters about the new local electoral boundaries and local electoral areas which are in place for May’s local authority elections. The boundaries for the local elections in County Kerry have been changed by ministerial order following a report from the Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee last year and the new website allows voters to identify in which Local Electoral Area they reside.

clydagh electoral area boundarymap

The searchable map, which was launched today by the Cathaoirleach of Kerry County Council, Cllr Norma Foley, is available on the Kerry County Council website at ‘It is important that we inform members of the public of the new boundaries and this is a very user-friendly map which will give voters the information they need. It will also be very useful for candidates and canvassers over the coming weeks where confusion might arise about the new boundaries,’ she said.

At the elections on 24 May 2019, voters in Kerry will elect candidates in their respective Local Electoral Areas and these representatives will form the new 33-member council. Up to now, Kerry had four Local Electoral Areas:

  • Tralee (9 seats)
  • Killarney (8 seats)
  • Listowel (7 seats)
  • South and West Kerry (9 seats)

For the 2019 election, there will be two new Local Electoral


  • Tralee (7 seats)
  • Killarney (7 seats)
  • Listowel (6 seats)
  • Dingle (3 seats)
  • Kenmare (6 seats)
  • Castleisland (4 seats)

The searchable map shows all of the Electoral Divisions (EDs) which are the local polling districts, for example, Kileentierna, and the Local Electoral Area (LEA) in which it is now located, Castleisland. It will also allow the voter to see which Municipal District they are living in.

Kenmare local electoral area bounday map

There have also been changes to Kerry’s municipal districts. Municipal Districts are in place largely for administrative purposes and can include more than one Local Electoral Area or align with an existing Local Electoral Area. They have no direct bearing on the local elections from a voting point of view insofar as voters elect candidates from the Local Electoral Area rather than Municipal District.

Up to now, Kerry had four municipal districts:

  • Tralee
  • Killarney
  • Listowel
  • South and West Kerry

From June 2019, there will be five municipal districts:

  • Tralee
  • Killarney
  • Listowel
  • Kenmare
  • An Daingean-Castleislandelectoral area map

Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts can be congruent, for example, the new Kenmare Municipal District is comprised of the Kenmare Electoral Area. The new An Daingean-Castleisland Municipal District is comprised of the new Dingle Electoral Area (3) and Castleisland Electoral Area (4). For Municipal District purposes, for example, councillors from the Dingle Area (3) and Castleisland Area (4) will meet together as part of the An Daingean-Castleisland Municipal District.

Kilcummin aerial boundary map

Contact Us

Kerry County Council
Co Buildings,
Co. Kerry
Tel: 066/7183500
E:  [email protected] 

Social Media

Translate »