Kenmare Municipal District Local Area Plan Pre Draft Consultation


Réamh-Ullmhúchán ar Dhréacht Phlean Áitiúil  do Cheantar Neidín

Planning & Development Acts 2000 – 2022

Preliminary Preparation of a Draft Kenmare Municipal District Local Area Plan


Notice is hereby given, pursuant to Section 20(1) of the Planning & Development Acts 2000 – 2021 that, Kerry County Council, being the Planning Authority for the County of Kerry, intends to prepare a Local Area Plan for the Kenmare Municipal District. This area includes the following settlements:

Regional Towns

Cahersiveen, Kenmare, Killorglin

District Towns

Sneem, Waterville


Baile an Sceilg, Beaufort, Chapeltown, Dún Géagáin, Glenbeigh Kilgarvan, Knightstown, Portmagee 

Small Village Settlements

An Chillín Liath, An Gleann, Bonane, Caherdaniel, Castlecove, Cromane, Glencar, Kells, Kilgobnet, Lauragh, Tahilla, Templenoe & Tuosist.


The new Kenmare Municipal District LAP will replace the existing West Iveragh LAP 2019-2025, Killorglin Functional Area LAP 2010-2016, the Kenmare Functional Area LAP 2010-2016, and the Cahersiveen, Waterville & Sneem Functional Areas LAP 2013-2019.

Pre-Draft Invitation to make Submissions

Submissions or observations on any issues which may need to be considered in the preparation of the Draft Kenmare Municipal District Local Area Plan are hereby invited from members of the public and other interested parties. Children, or groups or associations representing the interests of children, are entitled to make submissions or observations.

Submissions may be made during the period from:

Thursday 4th August 2022 until Friday 9th September 2022.

Submissions/observations may be made using the online consultation portal:


In writing to the Planning Policy Unit, Kerry County Council, County Buildings, Rathass, Tralee, Co. Kerry, V92 H7VT, marked Kenmare MD LAP Pre Draft.




The Planning process is an open and public one. In that context, all submissions / observations will be taken into consideration, are a matter of public record and will be placed on the County Council’s website.


Contact Us

Room 13,
Planning Department
Co. Kerry
Tel: 066/7183582
Fax: 066/7120328
E: [email protected]

Translate »