About the Council

Kerry County Council (Comhairle Contae Chiarraí) is the local government body responsible for the provision and administration of a wide range of services in the county of Kerry in the southwest of Ireland.

The council provides services and facilities ranging from housing, planning, economic development, business supports, environmental protection, roads and infrastructure, tourism and arts promotion, community facilities, libraries, fire services and much more. You can find out more about those services on the Our Services page on this website.

Kerry County Council has thirty-three elected members (councillors) who are democratically elected at local authority elections every five years. The last local authority elections took place in May 2019.

The elected members represent six electoral areas in the county: Tralee, Killarney, Kenmare, Corca Dhuibhne, Castleisland and Listowel.

The county is split into five Municipal Districts (administrative areas) across the county and they have a number of functions including the adoption of the council’s annual budget, service delivery plans, bye-laws, policies, and amendments to development plans in towns and villages.

The Municipal Districts, established under the Local Government Act, 2014, include:

• Tralee (7 members)
• Killarney (7 members)
• Castleisland-Corca Dhuibhne (7 members)
• Listowel (6 members)
• Kenmare (6 members)

The councillors represent those who elect them, vote on issued which come before them, raise issues of concern to them as well as holding the council management to account at monthly meetings and other meetings.

Municipal Districts meet approximately six times per year and there are also four Strategic Policy Committees which discuss policy and strategy in a number of key areas.

KerryMayor Jim Finucane

Councillor Jim Finucane of the Fine Gael party is the current Cathaoirleach (Chairperson) of Kerry County Council. Each Cathaoirleach serves for a one-year term. The Leas-Cathaoirleach (Vice-Chairperson) is Councillor Johnnie Wall of Fianna Fáil.

A council staff of approximately 1,300 people is headed up by the Chief Executive, Moira Murrell, and Directors of Services in a number of units or departments within the council. The council’s administrative headquarters is based at County Buildings, Rathass, Tralee.

Contact Us
Kerry County Council
Co Buildings,
Co. Kerry
Tel: 066/7183500
E: [email protected]
Translate »