Roads, Transportation and Marine Department

roadsmainThe Roads Department is responsible for the design, maintenance and construction of public roads in Kerry where some 435km of National Roads and 4,446kms of other roads exist. This includes safety considerations and ongoing maintenance in order to provide a safe and efficient network to serve the needs of the county for Industrial, Agricultural, Tourism and Community Development.
Roads are classified under the following headings:
National Roads
National Primary and National Secondary Roads are the major roads in the County, linking the major towns and being the major routes into the County.
The three National Primary Roads in the County are:
N21    Tralee – Castleisland – Feale’s Bridge, Limerick County Bounds
N22    Tralee – Killarney – Clonkeen, Cork County Bounds
N23    Tralee – Castleisland
The National Secondary Roads in the County are:
N67    Tarbert Island – Tarbert
N69    Tralee – Listowel – Tarbert – Limerick County Bounds
N70    Tralee – Killorglin – Caherciveen – Kenmare
N71    Killarney – Kenmare (Tunnels) – Cork County Bounds
N72    Rathmore – Lissivigeen Cross & Killarney – Killorglin
N86    Tralee – An Daingean

Regional Roads
These are the main link routes between National Routes and link the larger towns and villages.
Local Roads
These are all public roads not falling under the National or Regional categories.

Contact Us
Roads, Transportation and Marine Department
Room 115
Rathass, Tralee,
Co. Kerry
Tel: 066/7183588
Email: [email protected]
Translate »