Welcome to the Planning Section

Our public office is open Monday to Friday, from 9.00 a.m. - 5.00p.m. (including lunch) at Room Planning mainpage13, Áras an Chontae, ‌Rathass, Tralee.

The Planning Department processes all planning applications for development within the County.

We are responsible for implementing planning policies in Kerry that facilitate economic development while protecting and preserving our environment.

The Planning Department also plays an important role in the Enforcement of Planning Control.

Planning files from and including 2010 to date are located at County Buildings and may be inspected at the public counter. Earlier files are stored off site but can be ordered by telephoning the office and are normally available for inspection within 3 working days.

There is no retrieval charge for 2008 planning files and subsequent years. There is a retrieval charge for 2007 and earlier years of €15 per file.

Payments can be made at the public counter by: Cash / Cheque / Bank Draft / Postal Order / Credit Card or Debit Card.

As all Town Councils have now amalgamated with Kerry County Council all Planning applications, further information, certs of exemption etc must be submitted to the Planning Department, Kerry County council, County Buildings, Rathass, Tralee

All queries relating to planning applications for Kerry should be referred to the Planning Department, Kerry County Council.

You can search for and view (if file has been scanned) all planning applications on Kerry County Council’s web site from 1st June 2014.







Kerry County Council, Co. Buildings, Rathass, Tralee

Phone: (066) 718 3500     Email: info@kerrycoco.ie

  • cssimg
  • wai-aaaimg
  • xhtml image